Definitive Legacy Map Glitchfix thread! :D

Found a bug? Can't start a certain map? Report it here (This section is for the maps that are NOT on the unity engine)

Definitive Legacy Map Glitchfix thread! :D

Postby SlenderSeeker » Wed Jan 09, 2013 7:40 am

Brought to you by your friendly neighborhood SlenderSeeker. ;)

I've finally got all the Legacy maps to work! :D So happy! So, in honor of that I figured I'd compile a big list of fixes for various issues with these maps, just to help anyone else out. I know this is outmoded with the re-release, but if anyone still has the Legacy maps and plans to circulate them around, then you can link to this thread for troubleshooting purposes.

~~~ Issue #1: The game unpacks, but fails to launch. ~~~


This is likely a .DLL issue or a DirectX issue. Please follow the links in the readme files for the maps. Specifically, first try to update to the most recent version of DirectX, and grant the game admin privileges. Now try to run it. If this does not let you launch the map, you may need to install a specific .dll file. The file you need is named d3dx9_31.dll, and it has to go in certain spots in your system files.

  • If you run Windows XP or Windows 7 32-Bit: Download d3dx9_31.dll and put it into the System32 folder under your computer's system files. Grant the trouble map admin privileges and try to run it again. It should launch.
  • If you run Windows 7 64-Bit (May work for Windows 8, not sure if that's a 64-bit OS or not): Download d3dx9_31.dll and put it into both System32 AND SysWOW64. Grant the trouble map admin privileges and try to run it again. It should launch.

~~~ Issue #2: The game launches, but crashes while loading and displays the message, "FPSC has stopped working." or "Error 506". ~~~

This fix is so stupidly easy I'm kicking myself for it now. First, try running the games with Admin privileges. Just that. Just doing this automatically fixed every single trouble map I had as well as helped make maps that already did work run smoothly! If this does not fix your issue with the maps failing to load, move to step two.

Second, try different compatibility modes. I've had the most luck with XP Service Pack 2, XP Service Pack 3, and Windows 2000 mode. Don't try to go much lower, it won't help and might make it harder to run the game maps since they're not meant to run that slowly. Don't mess around with anything else, just grant admin privileges after you get the compatibility mode set and try to run the game. It should launch.

Please note that you may need to attempt to launch the game several times until it works fully. Sometimes your changes do not take right away and the program needs to clear a cache file of old info or otherwise implement your changes first. If it doesn't launch the first time, try a few more times before testing a new compatibility mode.

~~~ Issue #3: The game asks me for a password when I try to launch it. ~~~

This is most commonly caused by extracting or unpacking the files wrong. You should always extract to a folder on your desktop through the extraction wizard to fix this issue; do NOT just randomly pull files out of the .ZIP folder! Extract the files through the wizard and try to launch the game that's in the resulting unpacked file. Now the game should unpack and launch without asking for a password.

~~~ Issue #4: The game lags terribly. ~~~

First try opening the setup notepad file in the map's folder, then look for the parameter called "postprocessing". If it is set to one, change it to 0 and save the file. Now launch the map and see if that helps improve the framerate.

Lower compatibility modes can also cause this issue. If you don't need to run in a compatibility mode, try not to, since the slowed down processing mode can bog the game down as a result.

~~~ Issue #5: Slenderman's Shadow: Mansion has a glitch where Slendy has the accidental ability to fly! D: ~~~

This is a well-known issue, and honestly I think it's kind of stupidly funny. XD There's unfortunately no real fix for this that I know of; if anyone has a fix could they suggest it so I can update this post?

~~~ Issue #6: Slenderman's Shadow: Prison is too difficult; I can't find all the photos in the time limit. ~~~

This is part of the game and there's no fix for this because it's not a bug. Prison was designed to be a harder map on purpose and this is part of that. I'm afraid that most people can't work in the time limit given; it's just not enough time and that's supposed to be part of the challenge. ;)

~~~~~~~~~

I hope this helps some of you guys. If there's any glitches or common complaints i didn't address here, feel free to add them.

I don't suppose a mod could sticky this for help purposes?
"Fear the man, the Slender Man / For he can do what no man can."
User avatar
SlenderSeeker
Registered User
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:34 pm
Location: Running scared in Slenderman's Woods.

Re: Definitive Legacy Map Glitchfix thread! :D

Postby LadyPakenham » Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:33 am

SlenderSeeker wrote:I've finally got all the Legacy maps to work! :D So happy!


I'm so happy for you too! :D I was feeling really bad for you and others who couldn't get these maps to work but couldn't buy the re-release either.

SlenderSeeker wrote:(May work for Windows 8, not sure if that's a 64-bit OS or not)


I think it's like 7; you can buy a 32 or 64-bit version. Not 100% positive, though.


I had the DirectX problem but was able to fix it pretty easily by just installing the whole package found here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... px?id=8109 I downloaded the zip file and extracted all files to a separate DirectX folder (on my computer: C:\Program Files\Slender\DirectX). I created both the Slender and DirectX folders just to keep things neat; you could extract the files to anywhere on your computer. But I didn't need to copy-and-paste anything to any system folders for some reason.

After extracting the files, I went into the DirectX folder and searched for/ran dxsetup.exe. The rest of it took care of itself, and I was instantly able to play the game (though I did have to mess with the setup.ini files a bit.

Note: I run Windows 7, 64-bit, with about 9GB of combined RAM and pagefile memory. That's way more memory than you need, but I like to have it anyway. :D

What version of Windows do you use?
Image
For more Lokis, Bendytoots Crankydimples and Alex Krillie fanart, please visit my tumblr: http://arbelathewhitehat.tumblr.com/
User avatar
LadyPakenham
Registered User
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:43 pm
Location: The Ark

Re: Definitive Legacy Map Glitchfix thread! :D

Postby SlenderSeeker » Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:29 pm

Thanks for the additional info Lady Pakenham. I can't believe my issue was solved by something as simple and stupid as just needing to run the maps with admin privileges. Now I am seriously kicking myself for not trying this sooner. :c

I personally run Windows 7 home edition, 64-bit, with about 3 GB of RAM and 218 GB of storage. Not sure about pagefile memory. Also my computer's a laptop that's roughly three years old and certainly isn't the best machine out there; still runs like a racecar though because I take extra-good care of it! :D I can still do heavy processing tasks like video editing and screen recording (while playing games; I usually use either Camtasia or Fraps), so I'd say that I do well even with what I have. ^w^
"Fear the man, the Slender Man / For he can do what no man can."
User avatar
SlenderSeeker
Registered User
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:34 pm
Location: Running scared in Slenderman's Woods.

Re: Definitive Legacy Map Glitchfix thread! :D

Postby Johnnieboy » Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:31 pm

SlenderSeeker wrote:Thanks for the additional info Lady Pakenham. I can't believe my issue was solved by something as simple and stupid as just needing to run the maps with admin privileges. Now I am seriously kicking myself for not trying this sooner. :c

I hate it when that happens, when you overlook something because you think "Thats too easy, that wouldn't fix it". Happens to me a lot xD
Image
Inquires: Send me a PM
Portfolio Available upon Request
Lover of Giroro, Alphonse, Mr Polar Bear & Totoro
Skype: Johnnieboy...
*Feel free to add me, just include your Forum username in the contact request*
User avatar
Johnnieboy
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 1:07 pm
Location: Scotland, United Kingdom

Re: Definitive Legacy Map Glitchfix thread! :D

Postby LadyPakenham » Thu Jan 10, 2013 8:14 pm

Johnnieboy wrote:
SlenderSeeker wrote:Thanks for the additional info Lady Pakenham. I can't believe my issue was solved by something as simple and stupid as just needing to run the maps with admin privileges. Now I am seriously kicking myself for not trying this sooner. :c

I hate it when that happens, when you overlook something because you think "Thats too easy, that wouldn't fix it". Happens to me a lot xD


Yep. Nothing like being owned by your computer.
Image
For more Lokis, Bendytoots Crankydimples and Alex Krillie fanart, please visit my tumblr: http://arbelathewhitehat.tumblr.com/
User avatar
LadyPakenham
Registered User
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:43 pm
Location: The Ark


Return to Bug Reports - Old Maps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron